top of page

My Experience, My Journey

Mohanad Alhouni

I was born and raised in Tripoli, Libya and I am currently living in the U.S. My father sent my older brother and I to Minnesota in the year 2011, which was a period of political protests and violence in Libya which eventually became a revolution. We both continue to look for more opportunities through our academics and tennis. I have been playing tennis for fourteen years and I was a former collegiate tennis for Gustavus Adolphus College as number one, singles and doubles, and I have won one national championship, had four all-conference team selections, and was the 2017 ITA Scholar/Athlete of the Year. I have worked hard on my academic studies by getting a B.A. in Business Management from Gustavus Adolphus College with a 3.3 GPA. My senior year, I became the first Division 3 athlete ever to compete against Division 1 tennis players in Fall ITA Oracle Cup National Championships. I have been recognized by my coaches as a leader on and off the tennis court, based on the way I behave and interact with others. I travelled all over the Middle East and North Africa competing and representing Libya in tennis, so I have experience with diplomacy, and I have been in situations in which I had to be careful, because what I say and do represents my country and my culture.

I speak multiple languages including: English, Arabic, and Libyan fluently, which allows me to expand my network internationally across the world. After training and competing at a junior and collegiate level, I developed my own unique and effective teaching methods to help other competitive athletes succeed on and off the court as they are constantly a part of a competitive world.My goal as an instructor, is to develop your mental and physical game. This will prepare my athletes to succeed in their competitive opportunities.

Through my years of competition and coaching, I am excited to share my experiences and expertise with others. My support, motivation, and knowledge will push you to accomplish your goals and aspirations as a tennis player.

bottom of page